Blog


Lars Jaeger June 28, 2019 , , 0

After the crash is before the crash - On crypto currencies, blockchain and Facebook’s new currency Libra

There is a ghost going around in the financial world, and this time it is not communism that is frightening the money establishment in Europe. The ghost today is called “crypto currencies”, and it threatens to turn the established power structures in the global financial industry upside down. Similarities with the communist manifesto are limited […]

Read More
Lars Jaeger June 18, 2019 , 0

"Machines Like Me" – On Ian McEwan's new novel

Most readers of novels, and probably also their authors, barely understand the details of technological progress that is developing at breathtaking speed. There is a lot of discussion about new technologies, but few are able imagine how much we will be shaken up by them in the future. In 2006, the American researcher and Stanford […]

Read More
Lars Jaeger June 6, 2019 , 0

Re-Design of the human being - What are we: Molecular genetic machines or autonomous individuals?

Considering the groundbreaking developments in genetic engineering in recent years, it is all too surprising that the new opportunities to bioengineers have not yet provoked a broader public debate. In concrete terms, as humanity we are facing what is probably the most important crossroads of the last 2’000 years: the appropriation of nature by man, […]

Read More
Loading...

Blog


Nach dem Crash ist vor dem Crash – Von Kryptowährungen, Blockchains und Facebooks neuer Währung Libra

Ein Gespenst geht um in der Finanzwelt, und diesmal ist es nicht der Kommunismus, der das Geld-Establishment in Angst und Schrecken versetzt. Das Gespenst heute heisst „Kryptowährungen“, und es droht die etablierten Machtstrukturen in der weltweiten Finanzindustrie umzukrempeln. Ähnlichkeiten mit dem kommunistischen Manifest beschränken sich auf die Heilsversprechen, die wir von den Befürwortern der neuen […]

Lees meer

„Maschinen wie ich“ – Zu Ian McEwans neuem Roman

Die meisten Leser von Romanen, und wohl auch ihre Autoren, verstehen kaum die Details des sich mit atemberaubender Geschwindigkeit entwickelnden technologischen Fortschritts. Zwar wird viel über neue Technologien diskutiert, aber nur wenige ahnen, wie stark wir von ihnen zukünftig durgeschüttelt werden. Der amerikanische Forscher und Stanford Professor Roy Amara formulierte 2006 das nach ihm benanntes […]

Lees meer

Re-Design des Menschen – Was sind wir: Molekular-genetische Maschinen oder autonome Individuen?

In Anbetracht der bahnbrechenden Entwicklungen in der Gentechnologie der letzten Jahre ist es nur allzu verwunderlich, dass die Möglichkeiten, die sich den Bio-Ingenieuren unterdessen auftun, nicht eine viel breitere öffentliche Diskussion hervorrufen. Konkret stehen wir als Menschheit vor dem wohl wichtigsten Scheidepunkt der letzten 2‘000 Jahre: Zur Vereinnahmung der Natur durch den Menschen, welche seit […]

Lees meer
Lade...