Blog


It finally happened (probably) — the first CRISPR baby is here

It had to happen at some point. You did not need to be a prophet to predict the birth of the first CRISPR baby. More than two years ago, in May 2015, the science journal Nature in an article entitled the same asked the question: “Where in the world could the first CRISPR baby be […]

Read More

With artificial intelligence to the top of the world - the examples of China and Germany

The term “artificial intelligence” (AI) is more than 60 years old (it was coined by John McCarthy at a conference in Dartmouth in 1956). But only in the last five to ten years has this field evolved into a future key technology with ever more powerful impact on our lives. Increasingly, it deals with tasks […]

Read More

A forgotten female pioneer of quantum physics - The mathematician and philosopher Grete Hermann

Those who are more concerned with the early development of quantum theory will quickly realize that the pioneers of modern physics appear to be a pure men’s club: Max Planck, Albert Einstein, Niels Bohr, Erwin Schrödinger, Werner Heisenberg, Wolfgang Pauli, Max Born, Paul Dirac, Enrico Fermi, later Richard Feynman or Freeman Dyson, to name only […]

Read More
Loading...

Blog


Nun ist es wohl passiert – das erste CRISPR-Baby ist da

Irgendwann musste es passieren. Um die baldige Geburt des ersten CRISPR-Babys vorherzusagen, musste man kein Prophet sein. Bereits vor mehr als zwei Jahren, im Mai 2015, stellte das Wissenschafts-Fachmagazin Nature in einem Artikel unter dem gleichnamigen Titel die Frage: „Wo in der Welt könnte das erste CRISPR-Baby geboren werden?“ Mit Blick auf die jeweilige Gesetzeslage […]

Lees meer

Mit Künstlicher Intelligenz an die Weltspitze – die Beispiele China und Deutschland

Der Begriff „Künstliche Intelligenz“ (KI) ist mehr als 60 Jahre alt (er wurde 1956 von John McCarthy auf einer Konferenz in Dartmouth geprägt). Aber erst in den letzten fünf bis zehn Jahren hat sich dieses Feld zu einer zukünftigen Schlüsseltechnologie mit immer mächtigerem Einfluss auf unser Leben entwickelt. Dabei geht es immer mehr auch um […]

Lees meer

Vergessene Pionierin der Quantenphysik - Die Mathematikerin und Philosophin Grete Hermann

Wer sich näher mit der Entwicklung der Quantentheorie beschäftigt, wird schnell den Eindruck gewinnen, bei den Pionieren der modernen Physik handele es sich um einen reinen Männerclub: Max Planck, Albert Einstein, Niels Bohr, Erwin Schrödinger, Werner Heisenberg, Wolfgang Pauli, Max Born, Paul Dirac, Enrico Fermi, später Richard Feynman oder Freeman Dyson, um nur die bekanntesten […]

Lees meer
Lade...