Blog


Lars Jaeger October 28, 2018 , 0

The Woman Who Explained Nuclear Fission - On Lise Meitner's 50th Death Anniversary

With Donna Strickland in 2018 only for the third time a woman was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics, after Marie Curie in 1903 and Maria Goeppert-Mayer in 1963 (only the economists have less Nobel Prize laureates, but the Nobel Prize for Economics has only been awarded since 1969). The most well-known physicist, who remained […]

Read More
Lars Jaeger October 27, 2018 , 1

Attacking the liberal order and our democracy - When technologies are being abused by authoritarian states

Facebook boss Mark Zuckerberg stresses at every opportunity the total transparency, he and his company are dedicated to. “We bring the world closer together” is his motto. In reality, however, Facebook is a covert surveillance company that earns its money by collecting and selling detailed records of our private information. What kind of customer they […]

Read More

Nobel Prize for Economics 2018 - The economic importance of technological innovation and the environment

With the announcement of the winners of this year’s Nobel Prize for Economics, the annual and ever- anticipated process of Nobel Price announcements has come to an end. The prize for economics is the only one awarded for a social science instead of a natural science. Its discipline deals with processes in which many factors […]

Read More
Lars Jaeger October 3, 2018 , 1

Eradication of entire species – What has become possible with Gene Drive and CRISPR

The genetic modification of not only the characteristics of individuals, but the permanent genetic manipulation of entire populations is one of the biggest dreams – or, depending on the reading nightmares – of geneticists. The effects would be enormous: For example, insects such as tsetse flies or mosquitoes could be modified throughout their entire species […]

Read More
Loading...

Blog


Die Frau, die die Kernspaltung erklärte – Zu Lise Meitners 50. Todestag

Mit Donna Strickland wurde 2018 erst zum dritten Mal eine Frau mit dem Nobelpreis für Physik ausgezeichnet, nach Marie Curie 1903 und Maria Goeppert-Mayer 1963 (nur die Ökonomen haben mit einer einzigen noch weniger weibliche Nobelpreisträgerinnen, allerdings wird der Wirtschaftsnobelpreis erst seit 1969 vergeben). Die wohl bekannteste Physikerin, die ohne Nobelpreis blieb, und neben Marie […]

Lees meer

Angriff auf die liberale Ordnung und unsere Demokratie – Wenn Technologien von autokratischen Staaten missbraucht werden

Facebook-Chef Mark Zuckerberg betont bei jeder Gelegenheit seine Verpflichtung zu totaler Transparenz, die er und sein Konzern sich auf ihre Fahnen geschrieben haben. „Wir bringen die Welt enger zusammen“ lautet sein Wahlspruch. In Wirklichkeit ist Facebook jedoch ein geheimnistuerisches Überwachungsunternehmen, das sein Geld damit verdient, detaillierte Aufzeichnungen unserer privaten Daten zu sammeln und zu verkaufen. […]

Lees meer

Wirtschaftsnobelpreis 2018 - Die wirtschaftliche Bedeutung von technologischer Innovation und der Umwelt

Mit der Bekanntgabe der Gewinner des diesjährigen Wirtschafts-Nobelpreises ist der Prozess der alljährlichen und immer wieder mit Spannung erwarteten Nobelpreis-Verkündigungen zu Ende gegangen. Der Wirtschaftspreis ist der einzige, der für eine Sozialwissenschaft vergeben wird anstatt für eine Naturwissenschaft. Bei dieser Disziplin geht es um Prozesse, in denen sehr viele Faktoren eine nicht immer im Einzelnen […]

Lees meer

Auslöschung ganzer Spezies – Was mit Gene Drive und CRISPR möglich wird

Die genetische Veränderung nicht nur der Eigenschaften von Individuen, sondern die dauerhafte genetische Manipulation ganzer Populationen ist einer der grössten Träume -oder je nach Lesart Albträume – der Genforscher. Die Auswirkungen wären enorm: So könnten beispielsweise Insekten wie Tsetsefliegen oder Moskitos über ihre gesamte Spezies hinweg so verändert werden, dass sie gegen die beim Menschen […]

Lees meer
Lade...