Blog


CRISPR/Cas9 - A biological revolution between almighty cure and nightmare

Even heralds of an ever accelerating scientific and technological progress are sometimes forced to follow with awe how fast results from basic scientific research every so often find their way into the developmental dynamics of our society. Just a year ago the biotechnical method bearing the difficult name “CRISPR/Cas9”, itself only three years old, was […]

Read More

The measurement of gravitational waves - the beginning of a new era in astrophysics

December 13th 1888 was an historic day which we barely find in any history book. On this Thursday more than 125 years ago the physicist Heinrich Hertz submitted to the Berlin Academy of Sciences his research report entitled “On the emissions of electrical force” (original German title: “Über Strahlen elektrischer Kraft”) in which he described […]

Read More
Lars Jaeger February 4, 2016 , 1

On the origins of the Enlightenment - Against the myth of the Christian Church

“Clash of civilizations” – in various appearances does Samuel Huntington’s 23 years old simplistic formula currently lives through a revival in the many commentaries on the latest frictions between the Western and Islamic (and sometimes Far Eastern) world. Specifically since the Near Eastern refugee crisis has made its arrival in Central and Western Europe, every […]

Read More
Loading...

Blog


Lars Jaeger Februar 21, 2016 , 0

<!--:de-->CRISPR/Cas9 – eine biologische Revolution zwischen Allheilmittel und Albtraum <!--:--><!--:en-->CRISPR/Cas9 - A biological revolution between almighty cure and nightmare <!--:-->

Selbst als Herold eines sich immer weiter beschleunigenden wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Fortschritts kann man zuweilen nur noch staunen, wie schnell Ergebnisse aus der wissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung zuweilen Eingang in die gesellschaftliche und soziale Entwicklungsdynamik finden. Noch vor einem Jahr war die selbst erst drei Jahre alte biotechnologische Methode mit dem nur schwer zu vermittelnden Namen „CRISPR/Cas9“ […]

Read More
Lars Jaeger Februar 11, 2016 , 0

<!--:de-->Der Vermessung von Gravitationswellen – der Beginn einer neuen Ära in der Astrophysik <!--:--><!--:en-->The measurement of gravitational waves - the beginning of a new era in astrophysics <!--:-->

Der 13. Dezember 1888 war ein historischer Tag, ohne dass wir dieses Datum in den Geschichtsbüchern finden. An diesem Donnerstag vor mehr als 125 Jahren unterrichtete der Physiker Heinrich Hertz die Berliner Akademie der Wissenschaften in seinem Forschungsbericht „Über Strahlen elektrischer Kraft“, darüber, dass es ihm im Experiment gelungen war, elektromagnetischer Wellen von einem Sender […]

Read More
Lars Jaeger Februar 4, 2016 , 1

<!--:de-->Über die Ursprünge der Aufklärung – Gegen die Mythen der Kirche <!--:--><!--:en-->On the origins of the Enlightenment - Against the myth of the Christian Church <!--:-->

„Kampf der Kulturen“ – in verschiedensten Prägungen ist diese 23 Jahre alte vereinfachende Formel Samuel Huntingtons zurzeit mal wieder in so manchem Munde und dient in diversester Verpackung der Kommentierung der neusten Reibungspunkte zwischen der westlichen und islamischen (sowie zuweilen auch fernöstlichen) Welt. Konkret: Seitdem die nah- und mittelöstliche Flüchtlingskrise in Zentral- und Westeuropa angekommen […]

Read More