Blog


Lars Jaeger August 22, 2015 , 0

A real "game changer" - superconductivity at room temperature

In the recent x years, our world has changed more dramatically than in any other comparable long period of human history. Any number greater than 25 for the variable “x” would make this statement true. And we can quickly name why that is: Because of the natural sciences and the technologies that spun out of […]

Read More
Lars Jaeger August 9, 2015 , 1

Science and Ethics – On physics losing its innocence 70 years ago

It is rare for physicists to pay a great deal of attention to an historical discussion or anniversary. In these early days of August 2015, this is different. They and many other people commemorate the 200,000 people killed in one of the most controversial military operations in history – and many more in the following […]

Read More
Lars Jaeger August 1, 2015 , 0

Future key technologies and the experts’ concerns – On the evolutionary dynamics of the scientific-technological progress in the case of AI

When scientists feel inclined to make a public appeal, we are well advised to listen carefully. Only a few months ago, the two renowned science journals “Science” and “Nature” printed two such statements, each by leading bio-scientists calling for a legislative framework around the latest technological possibilities to manipulate the DNA in human embryonic cells. […]

Read More
Loading...

Blog


Ein echter „Game Changer“ – Supraleitung bei Raumtemperatur

In den letzten x Jahren hat sich unsere Welt dramatischer als in jeder anderen, vergleichbar langen Periode der Menschheitsgeschichte gewandelt. Wohl jede Zahl grösser als 25 liesse sich für den Platzhalter „x“ einsetzen, um diese Aussage wahr sein zu lassen. Und wir können schnell benennen, was dafür verantwortlich ist: die Naturwissenschaften und die aus ihr […]

Lees meer

Wissenschaft und Ethik - Als die Physik vor 70 Jahren ihre Unschuld verlor

Es kommt selten vor, dass Physiker einer historischen Diskussion oder einem Jubiläum ein überhöhtes Mass an Aufmerksamkeit schenken. In diesen frühen Augusttagen des Jahres 2015 ist dies anders. Sie und viele andere Menschen halten inne, um den 200‘000 Toten einer der umstrittensten Militäroperation der Geschichte – und vielen mehr in der Folgezeit – zu gedenken. […]

Lees meer

Zukünftige Schlüsseltechnologien und besorgte Experten – Zur Gestaltungsdynamik des wissenschaftlich technologischen Fortschritts im Fall von KI

Wenn sich Wissenschaftler zu einem öffentlichen Aufruf bewegt sehen, so sind wir gut beraten genau hinzuhören. Erst vor wenigen Monaten druckten die beiden renommierten Fachjournale „Science“ und „Nature“ gleich zwei Appelle von jeweils namhaften Bio-Forschern für eine gesetzliche Rahmengestaltung der neusten technologischen Möglichkeiten, die DNA in menschlichen Embryonalzellen zu verändern. In der letzten Woche nun […]

Lees meer
Lade...