Blog


Science and Truth - a common misconception

Anyone dealing with science and its findings sooner or later faces a term that has its roots in philosophy, and even its original discipline has never been able to exactly determine its actual meaning: “truth”. But also in everyday use, we surprisingly often encounter this term in relation to science: “checked scientifically”, “as scientific studies […]

Read More

New progress in one of the "big questions" – The latest on the attempt to explore the origins of life

One of the “big questions” of humanity is the question of how life originated on our planet. Until well into the 20th century, scientists have hardly dealt with this question, as they had considered it outside their scope. But with the Darwinian theory of evolution in the second half of the 19th century and its […]

Read More

Science and aesthetics - Why the scientific search for truth is also a search for beauty

Since the beginning of recorded time we ask about the true essence of things and the world. We are thereby over and over again awed by the beauty of nature and the diversity of its forms. Albert Einstein called the thus occurring sense of mystery “the most beautiful thing we can experience. It is the […]

Read More
Loading...

Blog


Wissenschaft und Wahrheit – ein weit verbreitetes Missverständnis

Wer sich mit der Naturwissenschaft und ihren Erkenntnissen beschäftigt, sieht sich früher oder später mit einem Begriff konfrontiert, der seinen Ursprung in der Philosophie hat, dessen Heimatdisziplin jedoch nie genau festzustellen vermochte, was er eigentlich genau bezeichnet: es handelt sich um die „Wahrheit“. Doch auch im Alltagsgebrauch begegnen wir diesem Begriff im Zusammenhang mit Wissenschaft […]

Lees meer

Fortschritte bei einer der „grossen Fragen“ – Ein neuer bahnbrechender Versuch zur Erforschung des Ursprungs des Leben

Zu den „grossen Fragen“ der Menschheit zählt die Frage, woher das Leben auf unserem Planten kommt. Naturwissenschaftler haben sich bis weit ins 20 Jahrhundert hinein mit dieser Frage kaum beschäftigt, lag sie doch weit ausserhalb dessen, was sie als den Anwendungsbereich ihrer Tätigkeit ansahen. Doch spätestens mit der Darwin’schen Evolutionstheorie aus der zweiten Hälfte des […]

Lees meer

Wissenschaft und Ästhetik – Warum die naturwissenschaftliche Suche nach Wahrheit auch eine Suche nach Schönheit ist

Seit Menschengedenken fragen wir nach der wahren Natur der Dinge und dem Wesen der Welt. Dabei staunen wir immer wieder wir über die Schönheit der Natur und die Vielfalt ihrer Gestalten. Das dabei auftretende Gefühl des Geheimnisvollen nennt Albert Einstein „das Schönste, was wir erleben können. Es ist das Grundgefühl, das an der Wiege von […]

Lees meer
Lade...