Blog


Why upon the inexplicable in nature we do not have to ask for a higher being (any longer)

The relatively simple structure of the fundamental equations of physics, as found in Newton’s equation of mechanics, Maxwell’s equations of electromagnetism and Schrödinger’s and Dirac’s equations in quantum mechanics, respectively quantum field theory, suggests that the processes in nature can generally be well calculated and predicted. Physicists have therefore long believed that simplicity is the […]

Read More

The stone and Rosetta - A flair of moon landing

It does not happen too often that a scientific event makes it into the headlines of the daily press. As fascinated as in the prime times of the Football World Cup we have been in the last few days following the touchdown of “Philae”, the landing device of the spacecraft “Rosetta”, on the comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko […]

Read More

Dancing on a volcano - Extreme events can be quantitatively assessed and reliably judged upon

Nuclear energy comes with residual risks that even the soothing assurances of the nuclear industry cannot completely hide. As unlikely a nuclear disaster after considering the mathematics of probability may be, voices are growing louder that refuse to rely on mathematically quantified model calculations for probabilities as the basis for the public debate on nuclear […]

Read More
Loading...

Blog


Warum wir beim Unerklärlichen in der Natur nicht mehr gleich nach höhere Wesen fragen müssen

Die verhältnismässig einfache Strukturen der Grundgleichungen der Physik, wie man sie in der Newton’schen Gleichung der Mechanik, der Maxwell-Gleichungen in der Elektrodynamik sowie Schrödingers und Diracs Gleichungen in der Quantenmechanik bzw. Quantenfeldtheorie vorfinden, suggerieren, dass sich die Vorgänge der Natur im Allgemeinen gut berechnen und vorhersagen lassen. So glaubten die Physiker lange, dass Unkompliziertheit die […]

Lees meer

Der Stein und Rosetta - Ein Hauch von Mondlandung

Es kommt nicht oft vor, dass ein wissenschaftliches Ereignis die Schlagzeilen der Tagespresse beherrscht. So schauten wir in den letzten Tagen wie zu besten Zeiten einer Fussball-Weltmeisterschaft gebannt auf die Bildschirme, als die Landung von „Philae“, dem Lander der Raumsonde „Rosetta“, auf dem Kometen Tschurjumow-Gerasimenko – von Forschern und seit diesem Jahr auch von den […]

Lees meer

Tanz auf dem Vulkan - Extremereignisse lassen sich berechnen und verlässlich bewerten

Die Kernenergie ist mit Restrisiken verbunden, die auch die beschwichtigenden Beteuerungen der Atomindustrie nicht gänzlich zu verbergen vermögen. Wie unwahrscheinlich eine Atomkatastrophe nach probabilitätstheoretischem Ermessen auch sein mag: Stimmen werden immer lauter, die sich weigern, mathematisch quantifizierten Modellrechnungen für Wahrscheinlichkeiten als Grundlage des gesellschaftlichen Diskurses über Atomenergie anzuerkennen. Bei Extremrisiken wie der Kernkraft, die im […]

Lees meer
Lade...